311 thoughts on “Hot Stove League

  1. Now that the Duckballer is an Angel, which pitcher will the Dodgers sign to take his place? Justin Verlander? I don’t think that’s gonna happen, given his age (39) and his desired annual salary ($40M+).

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m not so sure Bauer can still get folks out though…
          I mean folks are gonna want to crash his party more-so now then ever before.
          Mike Tyson has made seemingly good changes in his elder years.
          He was te epitomy of recklessness in his heyday
          I looove MIke!

          Like

      1. Bauer isn’t eligible to pitch until 2024, and his contract will have expired. I don’t expect anyone in the organization would welcome him back anyway.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. For a person with rocks in his head
    I sure maximzed production…
    And I was honest in doing so…or at least best a human can do.
    Nobody is perfect!
    I wish Friedman wasn’t so fixtated on loaning funds to folks during the season, but only donating the Suoerpac in the post season.
    This takes the American spirit out of the equation you dipshit!

    Like

  3. I have come to the conclusion that I am going to be as nice to people as I can, but also remain truthful. I truly do loooove everyone and I think that is what drives me to see everyone do better. Except me…I just take things day by day and think about Jesus whenever I can.
    This is living the good life to me!

    Like

  4. I tead today about the Church of LatterDay Saints new outlook on gay marriage. I agreed with it. God allows us to do whatever we please…He doesnt say we need to admire everything, just respect them.
    I seen Bryce Harper cuss
    He should channel that motivation in another manner, but I didn’t need to tell him that. He knew!
    I truly respect Bryce Harper, as I am a true believer in Christ. Albiet with my sins of the Earth in tow…
    I have zero close friends, but truth be told, so do we all.., If you are forunate enough to have one, other then your mother. You are on your way to being godlike.
    You wont find out who your true friends are until you are no longer relevant to society!
    This is all part of Gods plan – So instead of ladhing out in anger trust that e will avengne your mistreatment in a proper manner.

    Like

  5. This General (The guy who was Trumps confident and is now Bidens confident) in charge of our military – is a ploitician who has no brass balls whatsoever!
    If you don’t believe me
    Read his wiki page.
    If our youth truly informed themselves on what is and has happened in America. The forces of evil would have no platform!

    Like

    1. Slavery was a horrible miment in time.
      No question about that.
      But to rehash those times instead of moving them forward through love and copasion for humanity is unGodly!
      The majority of Americans have no issues with color or Cultural acceptance…
      Plain and fucking simple!

      Like

  6. People are human
    We make sensless mistakes
    Thats the gist of it man!!!
    Obama makes mistakes
    Turmp makes mistakes
    My children make mistakes
    I take te cake at mistakes for all intents and purposes
    but
    Im a goood guy!
    Who cares more about you then myself!
    And
    I take so much pride this
    I really do!

    Like

  7. Crash
    Black Koufax
    Sparkleplenty
    LBirken
    Yall have character hen is unmatched in the whole sceme of this blog…and nobody knows this blog better then I.
    Prove me wrong!
    I’m listening!
    I am not a Republican nor a Democrat
    I am a man of Americans
    I am a man of Jesus even wih all of my faults
    Red gal
    Well
    I never Loooved anyone more
    Better to havelooooved and lost then tomhave never loooved more.
    I prayed every night that she woukd be happy till the end of her days,
    Truth be told
    She’s still got er swagger…
    I broke down and checked after a year or so.
    I looove you both!

    Like

    1. It’s doesnt take a bunch of wisdom to talk bad about folks… it takes employees willing to feed their family!
      Plain and Simple
      Now having said that…
      I would consider myself an Neo-Anderthal if I was sucked into thus crap!
      Aoc never says anythung positive.., Jessie is the same as her but not her!
      I loooove Jessie
      but He ain’t getting special treatment!

      Like

  8. Media folks cannot talk shit out of thier ass – well at least not while on air and under a corps control/
    If they choose to do so after hours that makes them human.
    And if what they say about humanity as a whole, not just as individual with a privledgde life and platform, but as a caring human who wanting to help everyone, without being compansated.
    Chuck Schumar is only agiant a border wall becuase once the wall is built, the dollars stop trickling in at high volumes/ – If they install cameras. the dollars continue tio flow and will only increase. The whole country us comliceant in this fucking deleemnia
    The Republicans didn’t want to fix it !!
    I just heard Linsey Graham day we have a dumb country

    Fuck You Lindsey

    Like

  9. Quit saying that folks hate other folks…
    I was born with a disadvantage and more then one for that matter.
    My family treates me like a black sheep
    Always have
    They do so while telling me that I am much smarter then them.
    I don’t know about all that. I do pride myself on being as honest as humanly possible though…
    And
    Truth be told
    Thats all I have aquirred other the a family who shuns me!

    Like

  10. I went outside tonight
    I went as far as the steps leading away from the porch.
    I sat down and waited for UBER.
    Uber never came, so…
    I’m back inside again!

    Like

    1. UBEr is evil
      They told me arrival time was 3 minutes, then it was 4 minutes, then it was 5 minutes, and when it said 6 minutes. I decided to go back inside and go to bed. That was about 36 minutes ago.

      Like

  11. Tough Luck for Julio, I trust he will use this loss to better himself next season, in fact that is my concern for those remaining, to do better. From Doc to belli to muncy to lux and CT3.
    So I hear Kershaw will be back, working that contract. Justin Turner? another one that should retire in Blue. So we have pitching problems, I agree with Crash; Verlander is expensive, perhaps Friedman think tank can pick a pitcher effective, durable and cheaper.
    This goes from the SP to the BP, pitching the sword that wins. and do we have a SS issue, not if Gavin lux , can play and hit, and then there are the big Free agents, I wait to see by February what the Dodgers Roster looks like.
    Also I am a bit upset that Dodger Stadium came in as the 5th dirtiest sports venue in the country. Oakland was first, yea I can support that choice. I have been to both stadiums. Dodger stadium doesnt deserve that! I think there is some national distaste for the Dodgers spilling out. Not understanding that, I hope I am wrong.
    So I will let the hungover multiple personalities of D4 now launch another 40 comments to this Hot Stove conversation. Ya da Ya da badda bing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Trayce Thompson can take his place. He is damaged, but could heal and be what he use to be, he is just gonna find that way without the Dodgers. Edwin Rios is gone too. It will be interesting to see what friedman and team come up with for the Dodgers roster. There are some holes to mend Pitching always, but now SS. although Lux could go there.

      Like

  12. Bubba came to visit…He said he missed me and really liked me.
    I told him not to open the door/doors. That he was to come get me. His response was two part. He said he was a good kid now, that he was a first grader. And later told me he I have rules, that at home there are no rules. Which sums up my ability to raise my kids in a nutshell.
    I have a new game we play…It’s called
    Tough Fluffy’s!
    I tell him tough fluffy’s when he wont eat something. He still wont eat meat and prefers pancakes and pb&j. Or cookies, candy. chips…
    So I have him eating more of the tough fluffy stuff. It is sorta working…he is pretty stubborn since he has zero rules as a 7 year old.
    He told me he was a tough fluffy. So I took him over to Instagrampy and showed him who Fluffy was…he laughed, then said my sketch didn’t look like him. I had to lay down a new rule after that one!

    Like

  13. Yes it will, Trea Turner didnt like LA, I guess, I dont know. We couldnt meet Seagers long term contract desire, so I dont see how we would extend that to Trea. Everything is quiet on the Blue trading front. Technically Kershaw, Turner brothers, Bellinger and Rios are FAs, along with others; but have not signed anywhere, so a new deal could be made for their return, but me thinks the brain trust is going to encourage new blue blood, of the above perhaps Kershaw and Justin will return as Veteran talent, to keep the clubhouse stable.

    Like

    1. Kershaw already inked a deal for $17 million – I think. I know he said he waslate getting started last season due to the lockout and I think he contributes that to everlasting health…which makes some sense, but he’s still old. Notold like me, but for a baseball player. Turner can agree to a deal if he chooses. They are both gonna have to find a meduim and settle there I think. JT has value as a DH…a damn good DH at that. I read he was the best hitter in the league the last 3rd of the season…I think Friedman stated it as well?
      Bobby Miller was impressive in striking folks out so, maybe he’s really close…we shall find out? Pepiot looked like he would work…and they have some good fielders as well in the mix plus a catcher to die for on the 40 man now.
      Trying to replaceboth Jitty and Titty in the line-up id going to be difficult.
      Trea hails from Florida…I understand him wanting to play close to that area.

      Like

  14. Koufax – You are the only person whom still makes an effort around here.
    So I guess I’m talking to you.
    Truth be told
    I don’t know that I have anything left to contribute.
    I have around 5000 avatars, give or take a 1000???
    I know-I know
    I always say these things.
    I think, my motivation is dwindling.
    Has been for a while.
    I’m running out of imagination to contribute…
    Yesterday was a tough day.
    A really tough day!
    Worse then the day last week, when my mother informed me that she had a mole on her back, just like my dad did.
    She came to see me yesterday and get some things.
    I haven’t wanted to see anyone other then her – So we hadn’t seen each other in a while.
    The old man came with her. That upset me.
    I told him so.
    I told him that when he vacated this house and left a pile of dogshit on the newly remolded carpet upstairs. He made his statement of his feelings for me.
    That I never cared to have another conversation with him.
    That will most likely be the final time I see my mom.
    I am glad that Bubba was here with me at the time.
    He is so loving to everyone…and he does it because he means it.
    Not because he is doing someone a favor, nor because he has anything to gain. He is still righteous I guess you could say.
    I’m looking forward to my next chapter in life.
    It’s gonna be a doozy, and most likely a little dizzy at times too.
    Go Dodgers!

    Like

  15. As far as my artwork goes.
    I can do a much better job then I am at the moment.
    I see and understand a lot more then I ever have.
    I just can’t get comfortable enough to enjoy myself. It, the concentration aspect of it, has become a grinding chore. I have a hard time getting started and lose focus early…sober or not!

    Like

  16. The thing about the dogshit on the good carpet next to the empty beer bottles say’s a bunch.
    Sure they were tired, but just a few short weeks earlier. I asked for permission to get a dog. And the old man told me as long as I pick up the dog shit!
    Hasn’t come back except to get his stuff since saying that, and the yard is full of his dogs shit, which was fine, he’s old and tired. No big deal…but he had the strength to lift and tip a bottle of beer, he could have taken care of the dog shit upstairs in that bedroom. And if he couldn’t have. My brother was with him at the time, as well as the neighbors.

    Like

  17. I’ve wanted to move out of this house 50 times

    Part of me couldn’t afford too
    but
    I could of found ways to manage.
    Most of me thought about my mom alone in here by herself.
    And I told her I wouldn’t let that happen.
    So I never really thought seriously about vacating.
    I knew she was going to go to my brothers, but every-time I tried to talk to her about it she told me she wasn’t.
    I lived up to my end of our deal.
    and
    I am proud of that!
    Now we can all let go and move forward!
    I pray for everyone each and everyday
    I realize that my mother needs him to survive and vis-versa.
    I hope they both live to be a 100.
    I really do.
    I also told my siblings I never wanted to speak with them ever again either,
    This is how I was raised.

    Like

  18. I have a glutton of things to be thankful for this holiday season.
    I still love everyone.
    Just want to do it from a silent distance from here on out.
    Smile and be nice to the people whom are in my life.
    Happy Thanksgiving!
    Peace to All!

    Like

  19. HappY Thanksgiving to You D4. You get to choose your friends, but Family you don’t, so it can be difficult. I know it is that way for you, but be resilient, things can change by circumstance or faith. You cant control anything except for maybe the six feet around you. Stay positive. Live for Peace, Love and Kindness, if you spread that around, then you have done your best, Haters will just hate. Believe me, living in the land of band wagon giants fans has built character and armour to outlast all their insults. I just can’t say “show me your WS ring” to them anymore, since 2010, kinda disappointing, it ended debates rather quickly.

    Like

  20. My mother asked me if I missed her. I told her that I did tremedously.
    Too bad she went to the one. or three places I have never been invited.
    20 years and I have never been invited to my siblings house.
    I’m not going now.
    When Covid started I suggested that we pitch in together and get a side of beef. They told me they would have to think about it. They did, then they bought a side of beef with my brother. They didn’t tell me or include me.
    Yesterday my momasked me if I wanted some beef. Mind you they already dragged it out of here once, now they want to bring it back.
    This made me feel like an outsider once again.
    I accepted the offer as to make my mom feel good.
    I wont eat it!
    I will either donate it to charity or leave it in the freezer where it is now.
    My family cant just cut the parts of me away and discard them like skin cancer when they choose and also be welcoming when they choose to do so.
    They are better folks then I.
    I got it!
    I’m also ok with it!

    Like

    1. My mom has been gone for a while. Even when she was here at the house. She didn’t like to participate in stuff with me. I’d offer to cook or help her and him and they’d say no just about each time. Then my brother would call and they would go do the same thi ng with him.
      I left them alone for the most part up here. The old man would do my laundry , so that I wouldn’t stay up here all day. He really dislikes me and it was highly evident when I was in his area. So I just stayed away.
      I was raised LDS and I believe that they believe that we do choose our family in the pre-existant. So I chose to follow my mother down here. It was a good decision, one I will never regret.
      Her and my father were having a difficult time bearing children before that. She promised God she would raise me in the Lords manner. She did. I love Jesus, and think of both him and my parents all of the time.
      I will continue to pray for us all.
      That all I can do.
      My mom didn’t even say goodbye, give me a hug, she just looked at me and said where is my package. She was depressed because she misses her freedom and I suppose because, I’m not conforming this time.
      Like I said, she almost fell going down the stairs, but she will be moving back into the trailer in the spring.

      But it’s time to move on.

      Like

  21. Thanksgiving came early for me this season as Bubba showed up, mornng after my birthday. He’s been trough a lot of changes as his folks split up, and his mama is always working now. So she is always tired. Which really made him gravate back towards me. But he has also matured in a sense as well. He’s a first grader now! So on that note, I gifted him my mouse trapping gun. I told him the rules. No shooting it without daddy. His daddy is an avid hunter and Bubba said he was gonna show him how to shoot a deer. I asked him what he was going to do with the deer since he doesn’t eat meat, and his reponse was – I’m gonna eat it! I told him if he takes hunters safety classes and they pass him. I’ll buy him a camo bib, with a golden bbq fork!
    Imma try to start a new tradition and invent Thanksgiving bacon, before he embarks upon his journey home.
    Then since I put a lot of my energy into making him happy this week. Imma deep fry a PB&J sando later and just chill.
    Then I’m going to create my final masterpiece…
    I’m going to figure my life out.
    I’m short on my meds, so I have to find a doctor and someplace willing to gift me the expensive one that my insurance won’t cover. Or adjust to oxygen I guess. I don’t want to do that though.
    Anyhow, Happy Thanksgiving once again.
    Say a prayer for my mother and her others…
    I know I will.

    Like

      1. I had a dream last night, that when I walked into the kitchen Dustin May was digging through my fridge. Just helpin himself like he belonged. We engaged in a little small talk over taters and gravy. I have no clue what time of day it was in my dream. Judd remember thinking
        What the heck are you doing here.

        Like

  22. Will this be the quietest off-season and biggest player turnover we have seen for the Dodgers in recent memory? Time will tell. I think the Dodgers will resign Justin Turner and we know Kershaw will be back for another season. I also think it is highly unlikely Bellinger will be back. Beyond those players, we are in a wait and see mode. I don’t see Bauer in a Dodger uniform and while the idea of resigning Puig is intriguing, I don’t see that happening either. Too much personal baggage for both players. I do expect management to surprise me with something I did not anticipate or think would happen. Stay tuned.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Agree, with all.
      Stranger things have happened then Bauer returning is all I was getting at. I don’t want him back.

      Anyone know how many times Friedman has signed a Boras free-agent?

      Like

  23. It seems that in the past they gobbled up fringe pieces early. Lately though(recent times) – free agent signings lag on until the last possible second.
    I’m getting much quicker drawing my artwork as well as more accurate…I still haven’t applied the mind power to master the values and the color process. Mainly. because it’s still not a natural process, so it’s like a puzzle and I’m not a fan of puzzles. Plus, I’m not all that comfy.
    .
    I haven’t thought about the roster much, other then the Turner production and manufacturing this in 23. I think they have enough young arms to fill in the season, they can always use a top crop arm. I just would prefer one who is most likely to play 162 game season.
    Anyone watching soccer?
    I haven’t seen one game yet….

    Like

  24. I should apologize for my rant the past week or so…
    The way this transition has been delivered is highly stressful.
    It was elevated with the freezing temps.
    and
    My mothers difficulties as of late.
    I am sorry…
    With Bubbas parents splitting up, I am going to see what I can find close to him, he still needs my help.
    He was really happy to see me.

    Like

  25. Judge stated he wanted to play in NY.
    NY stated they will not be outbid…
    That pretty much sums that up other then they art of the deals.
    Verlander is old.
    We have enough old players that may be sipping Ensure instead of Gatorade in October.
    Verlander is the man though…
    Lux ain’t Trea, but he can play.
    It will be a bit rough, cause he jumps when he doesn’t need too sometimes and that is not what you expect from the everyday shortstop.
    That aside – he will adjust and be fine.
    Trayce Thompson…
    Make it or break it, this season?\Can he be consistent on offense and will he be on the roster?

    Like

  26. Vesia – needs to dial it in.
    He has been a big arm in the pen in the past.
    Gonzales should be back?
    Ferguson is another year stronger and has a pedigree now.
    I just peaked at the roster…
    Old and injured
    Old and injured
    Old and invisible
    Young and invisible
    Names like
    Treinen
    Hudson
    Reed
    Bruil
    Almonte
    Bickford
    The player last season who won my admiration and respect was what’s his name…
    I can’t remember – he was really good, but not really noticeable…
    I’ll figure it out after a morning tune…

    Like

  27. I have never seen Clay Thompson shoot a basketball, yet Michael Thompson was one of my favorite Lakers/Blazers…seems to me, he was just money when they needed him to be.

    Like

  28. I was trying to find out how many Boras players Andrew has signed, when I decided to read this.
    Is Bauer his worst accusation to date, I mean he didn’t cost much moneywise…did he?
    They got great value as far as on the hill, during the Bauer speel.
    In saying this – I doubt he would pull that yo-yo back up and give it another spin.

    Like

  29. I would bet Andrew thinks about getting greedy like that again, for a long-long time.
    You know, because he’s smarter then I…
    I’d have Iron Mike in the minors, training to be my next great backstop. I don’t care that he’s 55.

    Like

    1. Apparently Will Smith and Barney Half-Bench are napping along the far end of the dugout floor.
      Doc shakes his head as he calls for Tyson!
      Geren smiles because he doesn’t have to suit up.

      Like

      1. After several passed balls with a runner on third – the game remains scoreless.
        They have titled 3rd base the Spinks corner…
        and
        As a result have employed an eternal shift.

        Like

  30. My final season playing baseball. My battery-mate – went to jail for assault and battery upon two police officers.
    He never missed a ballgame.
    I didn’t argue with that guy…he didn’t say much though

    Like

  31. Scherzer was a Boras client
    Gallo too
    Bryant
    Cole
    Strasburgh
    Carlos Correa
    Arozarena
    Altuve
    .
    Andrew has no issues with Boras clients locked up on upside down deals.
    He just prefers them to be near the end and not the beginning.
    I’m guessing…

    Like

  32. In a world full of dreamers
    What if Bellinger did resign with the Dodgers and hit well enough to be worth attaching a pick, in 24.
    Is that even possible legally. I forget?
    How hard would Andrew punch to win that right?
    A) Ali
    B) Tyson
    C) Butterbean
    D) George Forman’s Grill – complete-set with golden shish-ka-bob sticks

    Like

  33. Huddle up!
    Huddle up!
    D4 says…
    He’s gonna give ‘er another go-round.
    D4 also says that he shall wear his glasses this time
    Good Luck D4

    Here is a motivational tune

    Like

  34. When I lived next to the rodeo arena, there was an old building/warehouse that wasonce a honkey-tonk called Judge Roy Beans. It was full of antiques when I was there. Once in a blue moon, I would work moving stuff around for the caretaker. It was plumb full.

    Like

  35. I’m working on pen pressure control…light and dark – cool and warm.
    I really suck at this part. but I’ve never really [ut fotth much effort, okve in a bglue-moon/
    Imma work in making it part of my everyday draw

    Like

  36. I’m done goofin with the pretty judge for a bit. I like the castle-shows, they remind me of when we built Edwards Theatre in Boise. The owner and his wife walked through the gigantic building. And all of the power equipment shut off as they passed…it was a domino effect…his wife was also really pretty and strutting ahead of his group by about 10 paces. So funny. He just kept walking and talking…

    Like

  37. Dagen intrigued me due to her subtle skin tones, but I felt she needed a friend, so Emily had a different texture all together and this was easier then painting her in a tank. And the backdrop looks like a pink popcorn machine…

    Like

  38. Lots of folks blaming other folks for things they’ve done wrong these days…or using one bad thought process in the past, in order to justify their own present and future.
    My folks taught me this behavior was not acceptable, not saying that I am free of this sin myself, it’s a human reaction, but one that we need to learn to think about before reacting.
    What I m saying is that politicians and folks in Hollywood are making this thought process mainstream and acceptable. Which will have all of our kids thinking this is the norm.

    Like

  39. I Have been forcing myself to draw/paint for a while now. I just can’t get comfortable and I get tired after noon or so.
    I use the characters I create to keep my learning process alive. I always learn something, I usually forget it a few times before it sinks in, but even scribbling I learn something.
    I am going to work in my mom again here soon.

    Like

  40. Crash, we know you don’t fly with the team…
    but
    The team would greatly appreciate it, if you’d fly over to the admin page and announce what is going on this week in baseball.
    Can we get a count of team members that would embrace a new thread.
    1) D4 (Final Offer)

    Like

  41. So Trea to Philly, his brother is unknown, Kershaw is back! I suspect the rest of SS available, coreia, swanson, etc will get more offers now. I second having a new thread up, Hot stove #2, kinda like a Frank Zappa , oh and since music is important here, RIP Christine Mc Vie, I was shocked, bought her first solo album from 1970, very nice blues album. Oh that is right we picked up shelby miller, not impressed but if Prior can get him right, good stuff, same with Jake reed.

    Like

Leave a comment